Mail sorting madness

When I first moved in to my own place I wanted to get a mail sorter so that any of the roommates could go down to the. Mailbox and it would look neat and tidy on the front table. I looked but I had a hard time finding one with three slots instead of 2, so I decided to make one for myself.

I waited until we had 3 empty cereal boxes lying around, and worked off the same principle as when I made my giant washi tape dispenser.

I cut them down along an angle and glued them together as one unit. Then I took some of the extra cardboard and used it to add structural integrity along the bottom since not all the boxes were the exact same size.

Once it was all secured, I started down the first of several failed attempts at an outer skin for this project painting it out in white so it could be covered in plain paper (yawn I know, but I was in a hurry). However, I quickly fell out of love with is idea, and instead embarked on an odyssey of textures and methods, which culminated in the application of a crumpled paper and glue rivet texture, and the subsequent abndonment of the project for almost 6 months.

This a great technique for some things and I have and will continue to use it on cosplay props and Halloween decorations, but it was not the way to go with this project

Finally as I was making up my spring decorations the overflowing mail on the entry table started to get to me, so I dug it back out and ripped off my crumpled paper exterior, and started over.

I love junk journals and ephemera, so I decided to take it in that direction and see where it led. I have an old paper back I got off a trash pile at a friends of the library book sale that I use when I need book pages to do craft projects, so I tore some pages out of that and printed out a collection of Victorian feeling illustrations and posters, which can be found here.

Once I had them cut out I laid out my designs and cut down the pieces so I could start gluing the whole thing together.

Once I had gotten the whole thing put together, the inside felt a little sparse, so I went back after it with a few more book pages and the scraps from me ephemera collection to give the whole thing a more finished feel.

I used a couple different patterns of Washi tape and some stamp inspired stickers I had lying around to tie the whole thing together, and there we are, a much more elegant solution to our Mail collection.

And there you have it a long forgotten project finally checked off my list!

The ephemera collection I used for this project can be found here in the freebie library, sign up for our mailing list to gain access.

Processing…
Success! You're on the list.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started