The Ultimate Washi Tape Holder

I’ve said before that I’ve often wondered if buying craft supplies and using them are really part of the same hobby. It seems to be a perennial problem for anyone who likes to make things that they start to accumulate at a somewhat alarming rate, often without getting much use. One supply in particular that has been accumulating in a corner of the craft room of late has been washi tape. I love all the different patterns and textures it can add to something wi trout having to go to the trouble of glitter and glue, and it’s a quick way to add a pop of color to my bullet journal without having to spend all day coloring it in. The packaging it comes in however is the most inconvenient form of access I’ve seen in quite some time, so I decided to take matters into my own hands.

I knew I had quite a lot of washi tape, and that I wanted it all to be visible and accessible at my craft table so I could use it without having to commit every pattern and color in my collection to memory ( I have enough other things I already have to do that with). So I decided to turn a cardboard box into a three rung tape dispenser.

Like most of you there is no shortage of Amazon boxes in my life right now, so I waited for one of appropriate dimensions, and began my project. Using the dimensions of my box, I drew out the pattern on a piece of paper and cut it out.

I used the end of my rods to create the aperture size for the holes, but anything of the same size or smaller would work with this pattern.

Then I cut it out of the side of the box with my trusty exacto knife, and cut down the front and top.

To maintain the structural integrity of the box I made sure to leave part of the front side of the box.

I decided to use some 1” pvc pipe I had lying around for the rods of the dispenser, which I cut to about half an inch longer than the box using, my hot knife, and then shaving down the rough edges.

Then I cut the pattern and some rectangles to match the box width out of this lovely paper.

This stuff is a bit picky, so I ended up cutting it out with threads scissors for the round bits.

Then I put it all together, and viola! A three rung tape dispenser.

Would a tape dispenser like this be helpful in your craft space? Let me know in the comments!

One thought on “The Ultimate Washi Tape Holder

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started